3rd Edition of the Sustainable Development Awards held in Windhoek

Providing background to the Awards, Council Chairperson Ms. Gloria Simubali, remarked how the Awards reach out to all sectors of society active in promoting sustainable development across the country, including organs of state, non-governmental organisations, community-based organisations, and the private sector.

Mr. Benedict Libanda, the Chief Executive Officer of the Environmental Investment Fund of Namibia, highlighted the continued growth of the awards since the first edition in 2015, with a total of 74 applications being received across the different categories.

In his keynote address, the Hon. Minister of Environment, Forestry and Tourism, Pohamba Shifeta commended the winners for their contribution to greening Namibia’s economy and highlighted the importance of the green economy as the country recovers from the impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic. Awards were handed over by a range of stakeholders, including members of the Council. The winners of the awards per category were:

• Private Sector Champions for Sustainable Development:

 Best start-up: Paver Plast

 Best SME: Ebikes 4 Africa

 Best Established Company: Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp.

• Community level natural resource management and utilization initiatives: Mr. Lukas Mandema

• Best Research and Development for outstanding pieces of research or innovations in the field of sustainable development: Professor Daniel Likius (University of Namibia)

• Youth Action for Sustainable Development: Ms. Toini Amutenya

• Pioneering journalism in the field of sustainable development:

Best Television: Mr. Lesley Tjiueza

Best Print: Mr. Absalom Shigwedha

Best Radio: Mr. David Bishop

• Women and Environment: Ms. Agnes Tjirare

• Sustainable Schools: 

Ediva Primary School (Best Public School)

Swakopmund Private School (Best Private School)

• Green Financial Services/Institution: Bank Windhoek

• Thought Leadership: Dr. Mary Seely.