New members of the Sustainable Development Advisory Council announced

The Minister of Environment and Tourism announced the new members of the Sustainable Development Advisory Council today.

The council's overall mandate is to advise the office of the Minister in the implementation and monitoring compliance of the Environmental Management Act to prevent the degradation of the environment and to foster the sustainable management of all of our natural resources.

During the official announcement, Shifeta called upon the council to promote the 12 principles provided for under Section 7 (b) (iii) of the Environmental Management Act but specific emphasis must be given to the following:

  1. “Renewable resources must be used on a sustainable basis for the benefit of present and future generations”. Any natural resource extraction or harvesting must benefit the communities living in that area.
  2. “Community involvement in natural resources management and the sharing of benefits arising from the use of the resources, must be promoted and facilitated”. The community must consent in the utilisation of such resources.

Members are:

  • Ms. Gloria Simubali (Chairperson)
  • Dr. Peter Tarr
  • Ms. Hallo Angala
  • Petrus Nangolo
  • Ms. Aina Maria Itela
  • Mr. Joseph Hailwa
  • Sylvester Mbangu
  • Jonas Nghishidi

Photos: Jonas Musheko